"Though both are bound in the spiral dance, I would rather be a cyborg than a goddess." – Donna Haraway

I really wish I didn’t have to be a grownup.

Otherwise I would be trying very hard to make my way to GeekGirlCon, if for no other reason than the chance to meet Trina Robbins!

You see, I need this. In academia, I never doubt that we women are in it together, fighting the same battles. But when it comes to general geek and fan culture, I find that I am much more skeptical.

I recently attended the 2011 Comic Arts Conference at San Diego Comic-Con (update on our panel coming soon…) and a friend invited me to attend the GeekGirlsNetwork 2nd Annual Geek-Out. Despite a reasonable ticket price and the promise of many cool guests and giveaways, I found myself reluctant. Was I being lured into a metal-bikini-shaped trap?

I’ll never know because I didn’t go.  Which is a shame, because by all accounts, it was a great party. I suspect this distrust stems from repeatedly having seen geek women be objectified, or worse, objectify themselves in an attempt to appeal to men (*cough* G4 *cough*).

But reading the “FAQ” page of GeekGirlCon, they really seem to have the right idea: supportive of women in science, technology, and general geekery, and welcoming of male allies.

But sadly, other responsibilities keep me from going.

So for now I’ll read the GeekGirlsNetwork blog and listen to the podcasts in an attempt to get to know them. Maybe next year I’ll make it to their party.

And I’ll daydream about GeekGirlCon and be looking for twitter and blog updates during the event. Will someone who is going please tell Trina Robbins I said, “hi!”? Thanks!

GeekGirlCon. October 8 & 9, 2011. Seattle, WA.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

